Free Davinci blues
676 4 2023-2-19
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Bersecti
lvl.2
Australia

Ultra noob here being rude and making his first post a question! Here's where I'm at.

New mini 3 pro. Taking it to Indonesia to film my family surfing next month so just getting rudimentary flying skills before we set off. HOWEVER....!

The free version of Davinci Resolve I have downloaded onto my son's gaming Acer Nitro 5 will not deal with any H.265 files I import.

First problem is every time I open Davinci I get this dreaded pop up.

CEFBBEC5-A695-4070-B821-A1B0FB46C8D4.jpeg
B0F42E34-6054-4F04-ACEF-81C611FAEA00.jpeg
D932D182-487D-4117-A01E-B237C579ACE4.jpeg
2023-2-19
Use props
Bersecti
lvl.2
Australia

#More info. Son’s laptop is a Nitro AN517-51 with an i7 processor @ 260 ghz. With 16G RAM. It’s got a NVIDIA GeForce GTX1650 card.  Free Davinci settings I’ve explored so far seem to refuse to use the GeForce card. Well I’m assuming this because of the initial pop up even though the drivers for BOTH the Intel card and GeForce are confirmed as current.  The GPU page under pPreferences once I click past the above pop up show this. The pop up re Intel Hardware Acceleration comes after every restart no matter what configuration I put in and save here. I have left CUDA alone as I believe that is correct for the GeForce card. Reply Here#
2023-2-19
Use props
Bersecti
lvl.2
Australia

To clarify my question/questions.

I would only want to import H.265 files when I am forced into .265 by going up to 50 or 60 fps when in 4K on my mini3 pro. When I come back from this trip (please remember I’m leaving soon so concentrating on flying and composition) and I THEN have to learn editing.

Q.1 Should I record some stuff in the higher frame rates (therefore .265) and deal with Handbrake or Shutter Encoder for my slow mo when I get back?