Behavior when landing
757 12 2023-4-3
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Outpost6E
lvl.4
Germany

Hey all,
I have come across a strange behaviour of the drone when landing.
As we know the landing precision of the M3P ist not really precise. It mostly fails to hit the home point (in my case a landing pad) by one or two meters. So after initiating RTH when the drone is eventually hovering above the home point I still have to correct its position manually. It seems like obstacle avoidance prevents accepting my stick commands. Sometimes it would make huge leaps and sometimes it wouldn't respond at all when moving the sticks. This is when the drone is less than 1 meter above the ground.
Deactivating OA would be a bit inconvenient if that is an option but I haven't tried that yet. I have been flying the drone for like 9 months but it’s always been like that.  Takes a minute sometimes to get it right.
I think I can deal with it but your experiences on how to smoothly maneuver it to the right spot are welcome.

2023-4-3
Use props
Ranjan
Second Officer
India

I do RTH, once its 50m above cancel RTH then I switch to sports mode in which OA gets disabled & land it manually.
in my case too its off by 2-3m from home point.
2023-4-3
Use props
Blériot53
Captain
Flight distance : 6269839 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

I could copy and paste the reply from Ranjan  #2. as that's exactly my experience, and what I do
2023-4-3
Use props
Blériot53
Captain
  • >>>
United Kingdom

Ranjan Posted at 4-3 06:24
I do RTH, once its 50m above cancel RTH then I switch to sports mode in which OA gets disabled & land it manually.
in my case too its off by 2-3m from home point.

me too
2023-4-3
Use props
Mirek_62
lvl.4
Flight distance : 45171 ft
Czechia

Stand up so that the sensors don't pick you up. If you have obstacle avoidance set, they react to you and the drone wants to avoid you.
2023-4-3
Use props
Outpost6E
lvl.4
Germany