Unable to descend below take off height
2060 27 2023-5-7
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
hprime
lvl.1
United States

I almost lost my drone today. I took off from a ledge around a waterfall and a canyon. The drone just refused to descend below the take off height. I tried switching off all safety features and also at one point maxed out the altitude. The drone would also not move back towards the takeoff site. After miniutes of trying to move the drone back and forth I was able to bring it back barely as the battery was also running out. I was in full sight of the drone with every step.

I am a newbie at flying drones and am not able to find any solution to this problem. I have attached the flight record and hopefully this helps. Can someone more knowledgable please guide me on to to setup this type of flying so I wont be in this sticky situation next time. Thank you.

DJIFlightRecord_2023-05-06_[15-16-29].zip

898.8 KB, Down times: 20

2023-5-7
Use props
hprime
lvl.1
United States

Also I just used google earth to view the flight record. The drone flight data is flipped. The drone actually started off from the east side but the flight logs show west side as the home point. I flow east to west then back. But somehow its the opposite? While I was flying when the battery died I did notice it going back to home on the other side of the canyon for some reason.
2023-5-7
Use props
Mobilehomer
First Officer
Flight distance : 18135846 ft
United States

Newbie? Don't attempt these kinds of flights until you are no longer a newbie. RTFM many times, then PRACTICE!!! In an open enviroment.
2023-5-7
Use props
Bashy
Captain
Flight distance : 2354357 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

I wonder if it was anything to do with the low visibility for the VPS to work properly.
2023-5-7
Use props
Sean-bumble-bee
Core User of DJI
Flight distance : 15997 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

Your flight log on Phantomhelp
https://www.phantomhelp.com/logviewer/4B5QB9W29RH6AZGSVO4K/
2023-5-7