Flying Below Take Off Point
2164 14 2023-6-16
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Hesvey Martin
lvl.2
Flight distance : 192825 ft
Philippines

Hello DJI Team! I'm a newbie Mini 2 user here from the Philippines. I would like to ask if is it possible to fly our Mini 2 lower than where it took off like when you are at a roof deck and you want to fly your drone around ground level or like you're on a hill top overlooking the sea below and you want to fly your drone a little closer to the waters. In doing so, will it indicate a negative (-) elevation in the fly app? Thank you in advance for your responses! Fly safe everyone!
2023-6-16
Use props
JJB*
Core User of DJI
Flight distance : 12260774 ft
  • >>>
Netherlands

Yes. possible to fly lower.
Height shown in the fly app shows than negative numbers.

Barometric height is sett to zero at takeoff, so all heights are referenced to takeoff height.

cheers
JJB
2023-6-16
Use props
hesveymartin
lvl.2
Philippines

JJB* Posted at 6-16 09:48

Thank you very much for that, JJB! have a great day! #flysafe
2023-6-16
Use props
DJI Paladin
Administrator
Flight distance : 318 ft

Hi there. Thank you for reaching out. Yes, you can but please ensure the safety. We highly recommend you keep the drone within your line of sight to guarantee safety when flying. Should you have other inquiries, please don't hesitate to reach us. Thank you for your valued support.

2023-6-16
Use props
Sean-bumble-bee
Core User of DJI
Flight distance : 15997 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

One point, be wary of flying the drone down into gorges or canyons where the drone's view of the sky might be restricted and GPS lost, that can lead to 'complications'.
2023-6-17
Use props
hesveymartin
lvl.2
Philippines

hesveymartin Posted at 6-16 12:14
Thank you very much for that, JJB! have a great day! #flysafe

Thank you for that reminder. I will make sure that the aircraft is on my VLOS. Appreciate that! Thanks
2023-6-17
Use props
hesveymartin
lvl.2
Philippines