Phantom 3 Pro drops out of the sky right after takeoff as if hit by EMP!?!
2551 21 2015-11-8
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
calmasacow
New

United States

I have been using this phantom 3 pro for about 5 months without a single issue and this morning I was sending it up to grab a quick shot of the front a building from the air. Everything was green and I had about 60% battery. I used the automated take off it came up and hovered at about a meter same as always so sent it it up looking at it visually. Once it was at about 30something feet I looke down to my iPad and a fraction of a second later the camara feed went black and the status at the top of the screen went from green to red. And I heard it hit the pavement. I walked around this truck it landed on the other side of and found it shattered on the pavement.
I re-inserted the battery and it was still saying about 58 percent. Anyone ever heard of anything like this happening and will DJI cover this and what is the typical turn around time?

I
2015-11-8
Use props
daviskw2004
lvl.4
Flight distance : 12890 ft
  • >>>
United States

I wonder if it is possible that the proximity, perhaps at takeoff, of the truck you walked around could have caused a compass problem? It seems a common factor in many of the crashes and flyaways is a takeoff near large metal objects.

Butch
2015-11-8
Use props
calmasacow
New

United States

daviskw2004 Posted at 2015-11-9 00:55
I wonder if it is possible that the proximity, perhaps at takeoff, of the truck you walked around co ...

Even if that was the case that should have perhaps cause a drift or control issue I can't think of it simply just falling falling out of the sky as if it just shut off. As I said the camer feed and everything just went dead and then it fell from the sky at around approx 35' from the ground wich was about 29' above the truck and was at least 30-40' from any object.
2015-11-8
Use props
daviskw2004
lvl.4
Flight distance : 12890 ft
  • >>>