Tilting camera up to +30 above horizon w/ P3?
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
jim.meyer
lvl.1

United Kingdom

I've just recently receievd my Phantom Pro 3. Amazing! I've taken it out on only 4 flights so far and I'm really loving it.

However I was under the impression (from advertising specs) that I could tilt up with the gimbal to point the camera to +30 above level.
I've been practicing and like to fly just about a meter aboce the ground while flying around a subject. It's a beautiful visual effect with the foreground moving. But it'd be fantastic if I could tilt up a little as I slowly get closer to the subjet to keep them in frame.

The tilt conrol seems only to go to 0 level on the horizon or down -90. The GO app graphics on the live display indicates that there is a little more distance that I could tilt up but I'm not sure how to enable it to do that.

I'm sure this must be a custom calibration that can be manually set in the GO app? I'm still learning to navigate through all the menu features in the app and I just can't seem to find it (or know what to do if I did find it).

And I couldn't find a thread here on the forum on this. (Question: Is there a "subject search" somewhere on the forum? That would be helpful.)

Any advice? Thanks!

- Jim

2016-2-29
Use props
oj88
lvl.4
Flight distance : 36916 ft
United States

That bit of +30° pitch is a leeway used for stabilization. Particularly, if the Phantom needs to move forward, it can do so up to 30° forward tilt without affecting camera pitch. Though, you'll get to see the props in the frame too, so...

For the same reason, the gimbal can go past the -90° (up to -120°, I think).

You can unlock that +30° pitch in DJI Go by turning on Gimbal Pitch Limit 30° extensible in Gimbal > Adv. Settings. However, you can't go beyond -90° manually. It's only available for stabilization.
2016-2-29
Use props
labroides
Core User of DJI
Flight distance : 9991457 ft
  • >>>
Australia