2534 27 2016-4-18
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
russellsingapor
lvl.1
Flight distance : 797 ft
United Kingdom

Hi there

I have a serious issue with the Phantom 4. I have been flying Phantoms 2, 3 and 4 for 20 months now and have not had this happen before. The Phantom today suddenly pulled up in mid air (over water) with the alarm sounding on my iPad. I could not identify any issue other than maybe the collision avoidance causing the alarm. Anyway the Phantom could not be controlled and hovered in place. I could only control altitude and nothing else. Return to home did not work. The Phantom then went into an auto land procedure which I had to keep cancelling. Eventually after about 2 minutes the alarm stopped sounding and I regained control and brought the Phantom home. The Phantom was not near any objects and this does not make sense. Does anyone have any ideas or have had a similar experience. I have all the latest firmware and updates installed on the RC, the aircraft and my iPad. I have logged the issue with DJI support but they do not have any ideas at present.

Thanks
2016-4-18
Use props
parkgt
Second Officer
Flight distance : 1167008 ft
United States

Did you try switching modes RTH wouldn't work if GPS was lost?
2016-4-18
Use props
russellsingapor
lvl.1
United Kingdom

parkgt Posted at 2016-4-18 22:57
Did you try switching modes RTH wouldn't work if GPS was lost?

I did not but that is a good point - can I tell from the flight records if GPS had been lost and does the loss of GPS cause a continuous alarm on the controller/ipad?
2016-4-18
Use props
mattd
lvl.3

Australia

russellsingapor Posted at 2016-4-19 08:07
I did not but that is a good point - can I tell from the flight records if GPS had been lost and d ...

You can export the logs from your ios/android device https://healthydrones.com/

Then you can check what errors you received, if the compass had issues or if the GPS had failed.