Firmware Update Dilemma
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
anthony.radford
lvl.1

United States

Hello all, I am a newbie Phantom owner/flyer (but not a noob quadcopter pilot.) I have been flying other "hobby grade" quads for a while- Syma X5c, Blade Nano QX, Blade 180 QX, Dromida Vista, just to name a few...

Ok- I recently bought a Phantom 3 Professional. I got the message that there was an update for the firmware, so without researching into to, I updated my Controller's firmware from 1.5 to 1.6.  I then found out I can not fly my aircraft until I update its firmware as well.  

Here's the problem: my camera and gimbal are heavily damaged from a crash. In fact, the camera and arm have been broken off of the gimbal base.  In order to update the aircraft firmware, you have to put the .bin on the SD card and insert it into the gimbal.  My update starts and runs for about a minute, and then stops, and tries to restart a moment later.

This is very frustrating, as I have even let it run for over 5 hours straight, trying to get it to update.  But it won't even update long enough to place the "hidden" log!

So, the only way I can fly is to update the aircraft somehow, or downgrade the Controller. Any ideas? I have asked Support, but have not gotten much useable help...  Please help!  Otherwise, I have a $1000 paper weight!
2016-4-22
Use props
quickpoint
lvl.4

United States

if the gimbal is too damaged you may not be able to update it.   there is a way to downgrade the remote.   i am not familiar with downgrading procedures.   i will poke around tonight looking for a guide for you.   if ken or paladin could chime in would be a great time
2016-4-22
Use props
quickpoint
lvl.4

United States

straight from DJI ken from another thread about downgrading!