Cannot fly over private property because I am next to airport.
1694 14 2016-5-28
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
gunnersman99
New

United States

All I want to do is inspect the roof of one of our buildings where I work, for the boss man.  I work right across the street from a large airport. Literally...across the street. So I go onto DJI's website under my login and submit a request to unlock the geo "authorization zone". After a successful submission I attempt to fly my P3 Standard to no avail. I get the "GEO System: The drone is in a Restricted Zone (Airport). Flight is not allowed".  I have tried this three times. where I am attempting to take off from is maybe 300 feet inside the boundary as indiciated on the DJI Go app.  I could attempt to start outside and fly it in...but I dont think I should have to.

This is kind of silly. I am a helicopter pilot and certified flight instructor and I am 1500feet from the nearest runway. All I want to do is look at the top of a roof and inspect it up close with my drone.

2016-5-28
Use props
Gabe R
lvl.4

Dosent matter if youre 30 feet or 1000 feet inside the restricted circle, its restricted for a reason. Can you post a screen shot to show where you are, its most likely that youre within the inner circle where youre completely unauthorized to fly. I do understand your frustration being 1500 feet from the nearest runway but not everyone is as knowledgeable as you, you dont want them winding up on the 8pm news for downing a plane.
2016-5-28
Use props
gunnersman99
New

United States

Gabe R Posted at 2016-5-28 20:22
Dosent matter if youre 30 feet or 1000 feet inside the restricted circle, its restricted for a reaso ...

I'm sorry. I should have been more clear. I was frustrated when starting this thread.