range on P3P
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Wulf
lvl.2
Flight distance : 45059 ft
Canada

Hi just like to know about the range on Phantom 3 proI'm on a 160 acer ranch and like to fly from one end to the other about 800 meter from the top of a mountain clear line of sight.
Should I be worried about the distance?
2016-6-26
Use props
mochorm
lvl.2
Flight distance : 940148 ft
Canada

Lots of posts and video available on the subject here, lots of people fly well over 1km. The actual range for the P3P is around 5km
I've gone to 600m in a city without even as much as a hiccup or any signal degradation.
I'm relatively new to flying Quads vs planes so it made me a little nervous flying out across a river, basically out of sight. But all's well that ends well!

You mention your on top of a mountain, so a couple of things. Make sure your antenna are orientated proper for the whole flight. Also if you take off from a high place you will be flying at a negative height when you go below your take off spot. But you need to take into consideration your RTH spot and how high the area is above your take off spot. You want to make sure your RTH height is set higher than the highest spot the bird may have to fly to get to back home safely.
Oh make sure you know where any power lines are located, as you may not see them on your video feed.
2016-6-26
Use props
Wulf
lvl.2
Flight distance : 45059 ft
Canada

Thanks for the reply, Its my own property so no worries about power lines or other obstructions
2016-6-26
Use props
Cetaman
Captain
Flight distance : 2528264 ft
  • >>>
United States

Wulf Posted at 2016-6-26 10:43
Thanks for the reply, Its my own property so no worries about power lines or other obstructions

Aloha Wulf,