Cleaning your drone?
7677 19 2016-7-13
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
ratskiss
lvl.4
Flight distance : 349419 ft
Canada

I know certain cleaners can actually cause the break down of certain plastic materials. I am new to Pantom so I was working on my flying abilities in the back yard and flew a few circuits and flew up to about 35 meters then finally landed safly where I had started. What I noticed though was that my nice white quadracopter was now covered in bug guts. I must have flown through a swarm of gnats or something. So with the reports of stress cracks on some units could it be a cleaner that is too harsh weakening the plastic? What would, or do you use to wipe down your drone?
2016-7-13
Use props
Heebus
lvl.4

Canada

if I cant get the bugs off with a dry cloth ( which seems to have worked really well), I dampen it a bit with just water
2016-7-13
Use props
hallmark007
Captain
Flight distance : 9827923 ft
  • >>>
Ireland

Bring it into the shower, some gel good back scrub towel dry some deodorant and a couple of hours sleep,
All it needs is damp cloth, slightly soapy water, do not let it get wet.
2016-7-13
Use props
Taylored Video
lvl.2
Flight distance : 574823 ft
  • >>>
United States

the craziest i would get is window washer fluid for your car with the bug and rainx mix
2016-7-13
Use props
DJI-Jamie
DJI team
Flight distance : 112405 ft
United States

A little bit of rubbing alcohol on a cleaning cloth should be fine in moderation.
2016-7-13
Use props
ratskiss
lvl.4
Flight distance : 349419 ft
Canada

I was hoping that humour would be there to lighten the topic. Damp cloth worked fine, what a mess. Dexter would have been proud. I'm not sure I would use alcohol though.
2016-7-13
Use props
Heebus
lvl.4

Canada

I havent had a flight where it came back with out some kinda bug smear on it, mostly my props, only once had to use damp cloth.... wonder what kinda mess a seagull or small bird would leave... dont wanna be the one to find out tho