Can this shot be automated?
854 6 2016-10-15
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
LagunaHiker
lvl.1
United States

I'm a new pilot, and one of the things that I'd like to use my Phantom 4 for is to get what are known as 'crane shots'. These are the wide establishing shots that pan down as they zoom in, ending with a medium close-up of the talent. From there, the editor cuts to another MCU shot of the talent, taken with a conventional camera, and the scene proceeds. It's how they did the opening scene of 'The Sound of Music', with Julie Andrews in the alpine meadow. Of course, for that, they used a helicopter.
To get the shot, I'd have to fly the drone in a straight-line arc that looks pretty much like this:

Concept.jpg

Manually flying that arc would be very difficult. Here's my question: Can the arc be automated, either in DJI GO or in AutoFlight Autopilot? I'm not having any luck Googling the question, and I suspect it's because I'm so new I don't know the correct search terms yet. So, can anyone point me in the right direction? Thanks in advance.

2016-10-15
Use props
johnwarr
First Officer
Flight distance : 6467 ft
United Kingdom

"Manually flying that arc would be very difficult"
How exactly would it be difficult ? Got to be the easiest flight ever....
Personally I would forget about trying to automate everything and learn how to fly, that way when the inevitable app failure occurs, you will be able to take control and recover safely.
Just my opinion coming from over 2 years flying my V+, never used Ground Station or other apps to automate flying, not that the V+ has anywhere near the features of the Phantom 4.   
2016-10-15
Use props
gmccurdy
Second Officer
Flight distance : 3 ft