Line of sight
5537 18 2016-12-7
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Micro Pilot
lvl.3
Flight distance : 491988 ft
United Kingdom

Im a new drone pilot so excuse the simple question here.... I am planning a nnumber of shots for my first mini video and want to know whether the drone has to be in line of sight to control?

Obviously its best practive and being new to have the drone in view but want to know if i set up a point of interest shot and as the drone goes around say a building and i am not in sight at the point it goes round the back whether this would cause any issues with control?

Thanks,
2016-12-7
Use props
fansa84fe8a4
Second Officer
Flight distance : 3 ft
United States

You could lose signal going behind a building.  Bridges and trees too.  Outcome could be bad.
2016-12-7
Use props
Ethanflux
lvl.2
Flight distance : 450190 ft
  • >>>
United States

It doesn't HAVE to be line of sight, but I think the FAA wants it to be.  But I have done many a flights out of sight.  I would make sure that your RTH height is set much higher than those tall buildings if in case you do lose signal.
2016-12-7
Use props
Micro Pilot
lvl.3
United Kingdom

Ethanflux Posted at 2016-12-7 19:09
It doesn't HAVE to be line of sight, but I think the FAA wants it to be.  But I have done many a flights out of sight.  I would make sure that your RTH height is set much higher than those tall buildings if in case you do lose signal.

Thanks. Yeah, CAA here in UK also have a rule for line of site at all times. Im just thinking of a shot circling a building and at the point it goes behind for that moment. Will check there RTH is set correctly.
2016-12-7
Use props
Ethanflux
lvl.2
Flight distance : 450190 ft
  • >>>
United States

Micro Pilot Posted at 2016-12-7 13:16
Thanks. Yeah, CAA here in UK also have a rule for line of site at all times. Im just thinking of a shot circling a building and at the point it goes behind for that moment. Will check there RTH is set correctly.