Are photos not really sharp with drones
1452 9 2016-12-10
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
user0e3f95f523
New
United States

Newbie here:
I have a Mavic Pro.  I used the tap to focus.
I took a photo with a stable mavic (Not in motion)
But photos aren't crisp when i zoom in.
Is that just drone photography or am i missing something?

Sample:

IMG_1972.JPG
2016-12-10
Use props
jkvenuti64
lvl.2
Flight distance : 88543 ft
  • >>>
United States

Zoom is not optical zoom..it is digitall zoom..therefore you will lose crsipness with digital zoom
2016-12-10
Use props
Phigment
New
United States

jkvenuti64 Posted at 2016-12-11 06:13
Zoom is not optical zoom..it is digitall zoom..therefore you will lose crsipness with digital zoom

I get that.   But if I take a picture with a SLR, Point and shoot , iPhone and then want to zoom into an area to crop it (post editing, not at time of capture), it's at least somewhat useable.

With the mavic it seems like it gets blurry really fast.
Maybe because by the nature of drone photography it's a much further distance???
I wasn't that far out though for the sample selfie that I attached.  
Is it because the drone isn't super still?
Maybe it's a combination of those things?

Or did I do something wrong?
2016-12-10
Use props
pj4T3VeJm9Vo
lvl.1
United States

Phigment Posted at 2016-12-10 18:11
I get that.   But if I take a picture with a SLR, Point and shoot , iPhone and then want to zoom into an area to crop it (post editing, not at time of capture), it's at least somewhat useable.

With the mavic it seems like it gets blurry really fast.

I noticed the same thing with my Mavic pics
2016-12-10
Use props
rick39
lvl.4
Flight distance : 164354 ft
United Kingdom

A few questions:
What was the shutter speed set at for that photo. Was there any magnification at the time of capture. Have you tried shooting in Raw. You could try opening the aperture up and the iso to speed up the shutter.