Firmware Update Problems
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
M J PICARD
lvl.1

Spain

Took possession of a P3A three months ago, took the time to learn how to fly it and now have about two hours flight time.

I brought the P3A and an OSMO with me from California to the Canary Islands... Spain, 9,000km away, for three months...
I ended up paying the $100 extra bag fee to get the equipment on the plane... FYI: Highly advise LiPo safety battery bags.
Two out of three security checks didn't care, at all... however if not for the bags third guy would have taken my batteries.

Anyway... first flight here in Tenerife I get a 'motor obstruction' warning message upon opening the app, bird still turned off.
Looking into that didn't result in any answers other than to update the P3 and RC firmware... okay, went about learning that. Very exciting and being a newbie I carefully followed the instructions which one has to seek out online, not so easy.
Updated the RC by means of the DJI application on my HTC One (Android) and copied 1.10.90 to a formatted SD in the bird.

Guess what ... no connection.  I've reformatted the SD, downloaded the Firmware, updated the RC again and nothing.
Well, it's worse than nothing because it will open and connect about every third or fourth re-boot of the entire system. Having watched the connection literally disappear from the display after about a minute into the connection. It says "ready to fly"... yeah ??? Back in the pack and be done with you...I won't be flying this for a long time to come.

So I'm two months now watching YouTube's and DJI tutorials instead of flying this bird on this amazing island... Thanks DJI.
The formats, firmware updates, RC link tricks do not work... my Phantom will not connect with my RC with any regularity.
I can completely power off my phone and get about a 50% chance of a connection, so I think it's in the app. with Android.