Flying over water
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
fansf1a187a8
lvl.1
United States

I am relatively new to drone flying. We are going to the Florida keys and I think it would be really cool to fly my (std.) out over the ocean. What scares me is what if there is a problem and I loose control? Does this happen a lot?  If so......why?  I made a "make shift " flotation " device for it but it definetly has some control issues. Bottom line is I am afraid to fly my drone over the ocean. Am I being paranoid?

2017-2-7
Use props
fans454f0d4f
New

United States

Very paranoid.  I fly over the water all the time.   But usually over 30ft high though.   
2017-2-7
Use props
iFlyMyDrone.com
Second Officer
Flight distance : 740548 ft
United States

Floaties are not likely to protect your bird against salt water and spray. I live in Miami and most of the flights I make are over water. I feel that flying over water is the safest place that I fly. No crowds of people that can become endangered. No high-rise buildings to block my gps signals.

Be advised that there are medium sized airports in Marathon and Key West. There is also a hospital with a heliport in Marathon. There is a Naval Air Station on Boca Chica Key, near Key West, flying fighter jets.

Enjoy your trip.
2017-2-7
Use props
KevDrones
lvl.4
Flight distance : 475522 ft
United States

Yes, I got used to it as a 15 year old. Flying over water is safer because you lose $499 and you can use StateFarm insurance, or something like that for $70 a year. 500 meters with full signal, and no poor signal.
2017-2-7
Use props
SkyerUAS
Second Officer
Flight distance : 1754019 ft
United States

A if you decide to fly on the beach, make sure there are no aircraft flying nearby, wait for calmed winds, and clean any sand after you're done (specially off the motors and camera/gimbal).

Be safe and have fun! Here's a couple of videos I filmed on a trip to Ponte Vedra Beach, FL:

SKYER