New Mavic Owner and have a few questions
428 4 2017-3-15
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Chris F
New
Flight distance : 30728 ft
United States

Hello. I was fortunate enough to receive a Mavic as a Gift . I am very excited to do the right thing and so after my initial "test flight" in my back yard. I stayed about 20 ft up and just tried out the camera in "beginner mode" . I landed and started to do some research.
I am not going to be using the drone for commercial purposes. I only wish to go to safe flying areas and enjoy the technology.

Can someone confirm the following assuming I am just wanting to fly for fun/hobbyiest :
1. I need to register my drone for $5 for three years with the FAA.
2. I do not need to take and pass the UAS part 107 test to fly my drone legally in the USA.
3. Might be a good idea to join the AMA for $75/year to fly in parks available for RC aircraft.

I am VERY new to all this and started to do my research. I welcome all information.

Thanks!
2017-3-15
Use props
DroneFlying
Second Officer
Flight distance : 10774613 ft
United States

Correct, assuming that you plan to fly within the United States.

2. I do not need to take and pass the UAS part 107 test to fly my drone legally in the USA.

Correct, since you said you don't plan to fly commercially.

3. Might be a good idea to join the AMA for $75/year to fly in parks available for RC aircraft.

It might depending upon where you live.

I welcome all information.

Pay for either an insurance policy through State Farm or DJI's Care Refresh if you haven't already and take it slow.

2017-3-15
Use props
Supervisor
lvl.2
Flight distance : 197602 ft
United States

1. Yes.
2. You only need to pass part 107 if you fly commercially.
3. Yes if you will fly over those parks. TBH, I don't see any reason to limit the drone's potential to some small parks.
2017-3-15
Use props
Chris F
New
Flight distance : 30728 ft
United States

DroneFlying Posted at 2017-3-15 13:19