Autonomous mission for vertical target (ex. cliff)
2381 9 2017-3-31
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
CarlosGrohmann
lvl.1
Brazil

Hello there

I'm starting to fly with a Phantom4, my main objective is 3D terrain modelling for scientific research (I'm a geologist and university professor).

Although we can find several options (paid and free, like Lichi, Autopilot, Pix4Dmapper, Altizure, DroneDeploy, etc) for mission planning focused on 2D/3D mapping where the aircraft is -above- the terrain, I couldn't find anything for a near-vertical target, like a cliff. In this case, I would expect the aircraft to fly parallel to the cliff face at a given height, then go down a bit, fly parallel again and so on. Much like a 2D grid but 'vertical'. Also, since the camera of the P4 doesn't rotate around the Z axis, it might be necessary to fly 'sideways', pointing the camera towards the cliff.

Does anyone have any experience on this? Indications of apps/techniques?

TIA
2017-3-31
Use props
Augustus Brian
lvl.4
Flight distance : 397592 ft
United States

CarlosGrohmann:

You can, in my experience, do that with Litchi (it does allow WP altitude settings), but you have to program each waypoint individually, and yes, you would have to fly sideways. This could be a perilous undertaking, considering the varying shape of the face, the distance to the ground, drafts and turbulence, not to mention trying to maintain a consistent distance from the face, likely not a completely flat one.

It's conceivable that if your rockface is perfectly round, (tublular or conic), that you could use POI mode, but perfect circles rarely occur in natural formations. And even then, taking pictures in POI mode would likely be a manual operation.

So, if you can keep a large margin of distance between the quad and the rockface, you could program Litchi to do it, relatively safely.

Keep Smiling,

Augustus
2017-3-31
Use props
DJI-Ken
DJI team
Flight distance : 1515312 ft
  • >>>
United States