Fog line on horizon
821 6 2017-8-24
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Robhulford
lvl.1

United Kingdom

Hi All,

My first post within the DJI forum's I am new to all of this and my aircraft (DJI Mavic Pro) but I love it..  I have a question if anyone has an idea. I took the attached photo at sundown this evening. THere was rather a lot of layed rather thick high altitude cirrus sheets making for a potentially colourful sunset. Once I landed and pulled out the SD card to look at what
I had captured I noticed a foggy kind of line right on the horizon. Any ideas what this could be and if it could be a camera setting? Was shot from about 50m facing West, air temp around -+20oC 68oF, no wind.

Any useful tips and pointers appreciated.

Cheers Rob
Horizon.jpg
2017-8-24
Use props
ImHereToCrash
First Officer
Flight distance : 5381368 ft
  • >>>
United States

i think your settings maybe off is all.. low light photography is a completely different beast than daytime photography. 1st, out of focus, autofocus probably is incapable of helping much here because lack of lighting, manual focus it.  second  you need to use manual mode and play with settings a bit.  i also suggest learning how to shoot manually with a DSLR or mirrorless camera in both good lighting and bad lighting and bring that over to the mavic pro, because that will massively change the quality of shots you can get in less than ideal conditions if you know how to adjust things manually and decent limitations to apply.  like for this scene i would probably enable tripod mode up there, set my iso to 400 maybe 600 at most(more iso used the more noise is introduced), set my shutter to 1/8th of a second (maybe?) i dont know but you should play with manual mode a bit and see.
2017-8-24
Use props
Robhulford
lvl.1

United Kingdom

ImHereToCrash Posted at 2017-8-24 12:02