1472 16 2017-8-29
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Trumpetrat
lvl.1

Isle of Man

Hi!

So, I'm in the market for a Mavic. I'm a photographer and also tech nerd lol

I love the idea of the Mavic and capabilities as a photographers tool.

The only thing making me hesitant are the issues cropping up regarding latest firmware and RAW files.

Are issues with the Mavic really that bad? or is it just that we're on a forum and forum users typically post more about faults than they do about success?
I shoot with 1DX's every day and have never had any faults or issues. I work in enviroments where they get bashed and knocked and go through 60k shutters activations annually (I use 3 bodies)... but search a canon forum and it'll be plagued with "issues" and "faults".

Is it the same for Mavic? Will two different users with the same firmware and hardware experience the same bugs and faults or are there just badly put together units floating about?
2017-8-29
Use props
Sportbike_Pilot
Captain
Flight distance : 10278435 ft
  • >>>
United States

"Are issues with the Mavic really that bad? or is it just that we're on a forum and forum users typically post more about faults than they do about success?"

You hit the nail right on the head.

If someone wanted to purchase a Mavic, they probably wouldn't want to look on here first b/c of the multiple neg threads but remember not all users may know how to use these copters.  I like to try and troubleshoot first before started a thread with an issue. I once had an issue trying to download recent FW and although I did ask around, I figured it out myself and downloaded the FW successfully. If your tech savvy to some degree, you're be just fine. I'd say def go for the MP. I own one and can't tell you much please I am with it.

2017-8-29
Use props
lannes
First Officer
Flight distance : 4465 ft
  • >>>
Australia

a 1dx shooter won't be happy with a MP, it's the camera equivalent of  micro 4/3rds