Sun glare solution
2656 8 2017-9-6
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
WickedWingman
lvl.3
United States

I'm new to the AP Drone scene, but have years experience in the racing/freestyle scene. Even the down and dirty fpv cams we use auto adjust quickly for different lighting. I flew straight up today and almost immediately lost the ability to navigate due to indirect sun glare. At first i thought it was just my tablet, but i stood under an umbrella and cranked my brightness. When i executed a yaw away from the sun, i was able to see again. Is this a settings issue, or is there a filter i need?
2017-9-6
Use props
DJI Elektra
DJI team
China

Can you post your camera setting here? Did you shoot a video?Please upload the video to DropBox and share the link. Thanks.
2017-9-6
Use props
Hotlush
lvl.2
Flight distance : 100367 ft
United Kingdom

Have you tried setting it to manual white balance?
2017-9-6
Use props
WickedWingman
lvl.3
United States

i did not record a video.  settings are default.

i'll try playing with white balance on the next sunny day.  i assumed it was capable of auto-selecting white balance.  i wonder if it would have lightened up if i panned down on the gimbal to point at the landscape instead of straight across where it was looking at the sky.  the more i think about it, that was probably the issue. with the bright blue sky and white clouds as the focus, the terrain was completely darkened to black.

i went ahead an ordered one of the polar pro polarized filters as well.  figured that may even it out a bit.
2017-9-7
Use props
Montfrooij
Captain
Flight distance : 2560453 ft
  • >>>
Netherlands

WickedWingman Posted at 2017-9-7 05:13
i did not record a video.  settings are default.