Scary Flight out of sight.
1053 4 2017-11-21
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
djiuser_2p4HkSr
lvl.2
Flight distance : 20256 ft
United States

I had a scare on Saturday![size=14.6667px]I've been flying the spark for a little over a week and doing well with it. I'm an advanced RC plane pilot but new to drones. Today, my grandson wanted to try it so we went out to the big field and cranked it up. I heard  the Home Point Locked message. I had a good GPS lock. We had a low fog ceiling about 150' to a shelf of fog. He took off and was doing real good then I had to open my big mouth. I asked him if he would like to see what the RTH feature would do, and he said yes. We were using the RC controller.

[size=14.6667px]He flew way out into the field and then pressed the RTH button. I told him to watch how it goes up to about 100 feet and then just comes back. HA![size=14.6667px]That is when the fun began. The spark started to ascend and then it just kept going up up up up, disappearing into the thick fog. I didn't panic. I told him not to touch anything and just see what happens.

[size=14.6667px]Soon...we get the "Maximum height" message and the screen showed 396 feet. We kept waiting and I just trusted that the drone was in the same position, or coming our way, even though we could not see it. The height display stopped working and no longer showed the number of feet. The camera showed only thick FOG.
[size=14.6667px]It was overdue, enough time had passed to RTH.

[size=14.6667px]Soon, we got the "low battery warning" and I thought.... gee if it goes totally dead at 400 feet there will be a big crash. So I took the controller and pressed the big X button to stop the RTH function. Then I just held the down stick down hoping it would start descending. Finally, Zack caught sight of it and it was coming down. The battery went critical and I kept holding the stick down.