System requirements for 4k/2.7k video editing
11213 11 2017-12-21
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
krihamm
lvl.2
Sweden

Hello,

I recently purchased a Mavic Pro Platinum. So far I have only had time to take it for a few test flights, but soon I hope to do some proper filming and editing. I have done some filming and editing with my DSLR camera before, but other than that I am new to this.

Yesterday I watched some tutorials about color grading and editing in Adobe Premiere Pro and I realised that my laptop probably isn't good enough to edit videos in 4k. This was something I had not considerd before (as I said, I am new to this).

My current laptop is a Samsung Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3537U CPU@2.00 GHz 2.50 GHZ with 4.00 GB RAM. I was thinking about upgrading anyway, but after buying the MPP and with Christmas around the corner, this is not an option for me at the moment.

My questions are: Do you guys think I could at least edit videos in 2.7k with my current laptop? What is the problem with editing on a slow computer? Is it just that rendering takes forever, or could a slow computer compromise the quality of the final video in some other way? If it only effects the rendering time I could leave the computer over night and let it render then. Also, is it just rendering that takes long, or will the editing process also be slow? If not, I guess I could create a project and do all the editing on my laptop, then use another, better, computer for rendering.

All answers are much appreciated!

/krihamm
2017-12-21
Use props
Woe
Captain
Flight distance : 4129268 ft
  • >>>
United States

Down side is some computers can’t handle 2.7 or 4K I purchased a Lennox so I could edit. Suggestions would be shot a short video and see if you can edit.
2017-12-21
Use props
famorim
lvl.2
Flight distance : 1595574 ft
Brazil