Bad Sunset Pics on Mavic Pro
1128 17 2018-2-23
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
MavicMan101
lvl.4
United States

I got my Mavic Pro about a month ago, and I'm still relatively new to photography. Does anyone know why my sunset photos are so bad? The quality looks horrible. The pictures look muddy. I had the contrast at +1 and everything else at 0. Would turning the contrast down fix this? Or is this something that would be fixed in post? TIA
Picture: https://imgur.com/a/my8qK
2018-2-23
Use props
fans4788bc0a
lvl.4
Flight distance : 1059072 ft
  • >>>
United States

I don't think it looks bad. Suggest you shoot in raw and use a raw editor (like Lightroom) to raise the shadow detail.
2018-2-23
Use props
kfloke
Second Officer
Flight distance : 149961 ft
Singapore

Is not bad...is nice!
2018-2-23
Use props
StanfordWebbie
Second Officer
Flight distance : 178018 ft
United States

I agree with the others - the photo looks good.  What exactly are you unhappy with in the image?
2018-2-23
Use props
Woe
Captain
Flight distance : 4129268 ft
  • >>>
United States

That’s not a bad shot.
2018-2-23
Use props
MavicMan101
lvl.4
United States

Thanks for the replies. I guess it's just me   To me, it just doesn't seem like something that a good photographer would take, and I'm not sure what I need to change in order to make it look professional. Just for reference, do you guys have any sunset pics (taken with your mavic)  you want to share?
2018-2-23
Use props
Simmo1
lvl.4
Flight distance : 1624 ft
Australia

A quick LR edit.
2018-2-23
Use props
MavicMan101
lvl.4
United States

Thanks for taking the time to do that! It definitely looks better, but the detail still doesn’t seem to be there. I guess I’ll just mess around with the settings until I get what I’m looking for
2018-2-23
Use props
Simmo1
lvl.4
Flight distance : 1624 ft
Australia