Florida passes anti-drone law today.
4891 32 2015-5-14
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
1337brian
lvl.2

United States

Surveillance by a Drone; Prohibiting a person, a state agency, or a political subdivision from using a drone to capture an image of privately owned real property or of the owner, tenant, occupant, invitee, or licensee of such property with the intent to conduct surveillance without his or her written consent if a reasonable expectation of privacy exists; authorizing the use of a drone by a person or entity engaged in a business or profession licensed by the state in certain circumstances, etc. - Passed May 14th, 2015

So the way I read this is you can no longer fly anywhere there is private property without opening yourself up to a lawsuit? I'm no lawyer but from the sounds of this, this is pretty bad for Florida quad owners.
2015-5-14
Use props
mike
Captain
Flight distance : 228255 ft
  • >>>
United States

The most important part is "with the intent to conduct surveillance". If you have no intent, then it looks like you're in the clear.
2015-5-14
Use props
ntfa
lvl.4

United States

No...  Surveillance is defined as  the monitoring of the behavior, activities, or other changing information, usually of people for the purpose of influencing, managing, directing, or protecting them. This can include observation from a distance by means of electronic equipment

The definition of monitor is observe and check the progress or quality of (something) over a period of time; keep under systematic review.

Flying over private property with an electronic device is not monitoring nor is it surveillance.  Now, repetitive video of the same thing is.   an then there's intent.  If you are intending to monitor private property then it will be a crime.  Flying over is not monitoring.
2015-5-14
Use props
classicalle
lvl.4
Flight distance : 8903051 ft
  • >>>
United States

This sounds like bad news for us Floridians.
2015-5-14
Use props
mike
Captain