Range severly limited after firmware update
1852 14 2016-3-10
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
chrismillerjunk
lvl.1

United States

Greetings.  I bought the phantom 3 standard in the first week of February.  Didnt think to check firmware or anything so I dont know what version it was running,  I just took it out of the box charged it and went flying.  Took it out flying....awesome.  I didnt push it too far as I am new to the 3 (i used to have a phantom 1) but got at least 1200 feet distance and had the transmitter intact and decent video feed.

I did a firmware upgrade about 2 weeks ago to 3.1.50  and now I can barely get 250 feet before both video feed and TX cut out!  this is simply unacceptable and renders my phantom practically useless.  I am new to all the forums and searching for answers and it seems like there are others with this problem but no solution.  People are posting tin foil hacks but I should not be forced to do some tin foil hack to boost the tx distance when all I can get is 250 feet and the specs say it should be about 1km without hacks.  I am not comfortable opening up the TX and soldering stuff, I dont want to void any warranty, and again I should not have to gut my tx or by special aftermarket apps  where I can not even get anything close to standard specs.  Meanwhile other people post that they are getting 2 miles on their standard and look at us like we are doing something wrong.  I am jealous.