Best Mileage? (and other random questions)
737 15 2016-10-16
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Eye Spy
lvl.2
Flight distance : 531467 ft

Hello members,

I'm a newbie to P4 having just made 3 test flights for a total of 18 minutes. So far everthing seems to function perfectly. (I haven't used any advanced features - tap, POI, follow me etc.) I flew in an emply soccer field about 120M square. no wind, no spectators.

A couple of questions:
What is the most efficient flight mode, or in other words, what speed would give me my best miles-per-gallon? (distance/battery usage) I know the max velocities for each mode P,S,A. Also, if I flew at max altitude (500M) is that height significant enough to increase range?
So far, I've only test flown to a height of 30M and a distance of 54M, but I like to be (menatlly) prepared for a bad situation....

Second question. If I fly indoors (I haven't yet) can I use A-Mode but activate the Visual Positioning System. I seen to recal reading that P-Mode cant rely on the GPS system and may casue the P4 to wander...

Last question. In your opinion does one use the RTH feature ONLY as a last ditch attempt to recover the P4? (I havent tested that feature yet)

Thanks
2016-10-16
Use props
Jack Fedele
lvl.2

United States

Sport- It disables some of the features like obstacle avoidance, which take up a lot of battery.
Yes, the higher you fly, the better range you get, but only fly up to 400 feet, in fact, I got fined $500 for flying 500 feet.
Just don't fly indoors.
No, I use it if I am far away and just don't feel like flying back myself. Use it whenever you want to, and especially if you lose livestream.
2016-10-16
Use props
Aardvark
First Officer
Flight distance : 384432 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

I would stick to 'P' mode, if there are insufficient satellites the it automatically switches to P-Opti mode.

If you're new to flying then avoid using Sports mode or you will not have the P4 for very long. Stick below 400 feet.