Juddery POI on DJI GO app--cause?
953 7 2016-10-22
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
LagunaHiker
lvl.1
United States

I'm a new pilot, and I am testing the various functions of the DJI GO app. I tested the POI function this morning, and I got some odd results. I filmed orbiting a restaurant building, with two orbits in the pass. At the same point in both orbits, the video became juddery, as if the gimbal wasn't working correctly. I have uploaded my video of the pass to YouTube.

On one of the orbits, there was some weird artifacting at 00:00:57 into the video--It looks a bit like a bird on the video. But I had the quadcopter in visual range at the time, and there were no birds around it.

I brought the quadcopter down, took it home, and gave it a fairly good going-over. Everything seemed to be okay. I ran another test later with some manual flying and a smaller, slower orbit around a putting green. Both worked well, with the gimbal performing as expected.

So here are my questions: Did I make a mistake when setting up the first shot? Is there a practical limit to the radius of a POI orbit, or the speed at which one can be executed? Any idea what that artifact at 00:00:57 might be? Thanks in advance for your help!

2016-10-22
Use props
Geebax
Captain
Australia

Looking at that footage it seems to show something limiting the movement of the gimbal, it is jumping around and not stabilising the image. Is you aircraft a P3? Do you still have the small foam block fitted behind the main gimbal arm? That needs to be removed if so. The item you see in the bottom right corner is part of the landing legs, this should not be visible if the gimbal is working properly.
2016-10-22
Use props
LagunaHiker
lvl.1
United States

Geebax Posted at 2016-10-22 18:04
Looking at that footage it seems to show something limiting the movement of the gimbal, it is jumpin ...

Aircraft is a P4
2016-10-22
Use props
Bond
lvl.3
Flight distance : 1364534 ft
United States