battery care
1934 16 2016-11-1
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
fansfe8e35c4
lvl.1

United Kingdom

i am new to flying drones and so I looked at many videos.my only concern at the moment is the care for the batteries after viewing many videos they vary from video to video.
I am not sure about what level to let my batteries drop to when it comes to 20 charges and then do a maintenance charge
I used my battery yesterday and when I checked today it said it was 29% so I charged it back upto 49% and then stopped the charge as it is looking like a few days bad weather and I changed my auto battery drain to 3 days instead of 10 days did I do right to do the short charge.
any other advice is appreciated too.
2016-11-1
Use props
brunobaptista55
lvl.4
Flight distance : 1369839 ft
Brazil

Hi, there are many methods, some more strict than others, but as general rules:

- Fully charge before flying, and only fly from a fully charged battery.
- On its (battery) first 10 cycles, discharge until 50%. Recharge to 100% when you will get to fly again (day before, for example).
- After that, discharging to around 30% is probably what will maximize battery lilfespan (duration of battery, not flight time).
- At each 20 cycles, discharge to 8% and then fully charge.

Keep it away from heat sources (NEVER on a car exposed to sunlight).
NEVER keep it fully charged for more than 3-5 days.

If you discharge to around 30% and will use it in the next few days/2 weeks, no need to charge to 50%.

2016-11-1
Use props
RedHotPoker
Captain
Flight distance : 165105 ft
Canada

Yes, only fly them new batteries down to 50% the first ten flights.
According to DJI-Ken, They now recommend a deep cycle after every ten full charges...

RedHotPoker
2016-11-1
Use props
DJI Natalia
Administrator
Flight distance : 318 ft

Here is the DJI official tutorial for Intelligent Battery Use and Maintenance, hope this helps:
2016-11-1
Use props
fansfe8e35c4
lvl.1

United Kingdom