DNG vs JPG quality, phantom 3 Advanced
1886 8 2016-11-16
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Phantomski
Second Officer
Flight distance : 14869882 ft
United States

So this little test album, where every image should be downloadable, if you want to look at the full res -
https://goo.gl/photos/oxev1W89Mxc3kkuH7
Every set of images is a jpg from DNG conversion, followed by a jpg as captured by the drone....
Sometimes I like DNG, sometimes i like JPG, but in dark condition (and I did run dngclean) the dark surfaces look very much made out of gray, black, red, brown dots.. quite pixalated.....
Thoughts on improvement on the DJI itself? Good things to do to these in photoshop? I just got the  photoshop subscription, but I am finding that I am not very good at working it yet, and i mainly use raw camera editor from photoshop bridge.....

Just wondering what can you guys suggest to make things better!

I may add some adjusted images, and will mark them as postprocessed with a comment in the album..... see how well I do ;)

Thx!

2016-11-16
Use props
RSW
lvl.4
Flight distance : 116736 ft
United States

What are you using to generate the JPG from the DNG?
You should be able to get everything out of the DNG that exists in the JPG. Think of the DNG as your negative and the JPG as your final print. The DNG contains more information than the JPG.

Also, you will always have greater noise on low light images. You are just seeing the noise because the DNG allows you to. If you adjust the brightness, contrast and gamma to make the DNG image appear like the JPG then that noise should be no more apparent in the result than it does in the JPG.
2016-11-16
Use props
Phantomski
Second Officer
United States

Maybe it's the gamma that I am missing, let me see...  I used Total Image Converter for this case, but if I wanted to modify dng well, i'd do photoshop raw camera - I think that's whatit's called.. it's a plugin in Photoshop that i can get to from Bridge....