Buying my first DJI. On a budget. P3S or hold out for Mavic rumor?
1612 19 2017-3-11
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Kalerad
lvl.1
Flight distance : 198114 ft
United States

Hey everyone! I am a novice creator looking to get deeper into drone videography and photography. I purchased a cheap phantom knockoff (Syma X8G) and fell in love with the hobby. I am now in the market to upgrade but can't afford the Mavic and phantom 4 price. Do you guys think I should bite the bullet and get the P3S? or hold out and see if there's any substance to the Mavic Standard rumors?

Thanks
2017-3-11
Use props
solentlife
First Officer
Flight distance : 1087530 ft
Latvia

Personally ... go find a P3 Advanced or Pro ...... decent second hand are good prices. There are even clearance ones around.

Excellent video ... excellent range ... plenty of info online to keep them going ...

Nigel
2017-3-11
Use props
Maxxgold
lvl.2
Flight distance : 19157 ft
United States

solentlife Posted at 2017-3-11 09:27
Personally ... go find a P3 Advanced or Pro ...... decent second hand are good prices. There are even clearance ones around.

Excellent video ... excellent range ... plenty of info online to keep them going ...

Yep, P3A or P3 Pro would be the way to go if you are on a budget. I would have no issues buying a refurbished P3 Pro. Whatever you do though, I would buy from Amazon if you can. They give you 30 days to return an item, and if you have a problem, you can return the item and get a new one.

I have a friend who has a P3S, and he gets amazing video from it, so even though most people will recommend the P3A and P3 Pro over a P3S, a P3S is still awesome in my eyes.
2017-3-11
Use props
solentlife
First Officer
Latvia

If short range - mostly close in photo / video - the P3S is very good ...

I have a P3S and I reckon its marvelous ... I did some modifications to get good range .... all in cost me about same as refurb P3A after the addons etc.

Nigel
2017-3-11
Use props
Kalerad