Firmware - where to go from here?
1070 9 2016-11-8
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
fansa039f73a
lvl.1

Newbie here..sorry. Used Inspire 1...working on understanding firmware...so I went to the DJI Go app and got to the About page... it's showing the following:

App   Version 3.0.2
Aircraft    Version 1.8.1.00
Remote Controller    Version 1.6.0
Camera    Version 1.8.1.00

That's it!  In some of the online videos I see the lists shown have many more items...for example - Battery...Gimbal...Main controller...encoders, etc. So I'm a bit confused on this for starters.

The second question I have is how do I know what the latest versions of the firmware for each of the elements should be.  I went to the Inspire download page at DJI and the latest Firmware listed is 1.9.1.30.  So I guess I need to install this Version?

When you install Firmware does it update all the elements, ie battery, gimbal, etc. How do I know if, for example, Remote controller version 1.6.0 is the latest for Firmware Version 1.9.1.30...ie, does each element have it's own version..if so, how do you know if it is correct?  Why does my About list only show the 4 elements listed above?

Well...I'd appreciate any help.  Since getting the drone I decided to try to understand the battery use/maintenance issues first and now I'm trying to understand firmware.

Thanks!
2016-11-8
Use props
filmalaska
lvl.2
Flight distance : 123225 ft
United States

Hi,
I wouldn't update anything until you read some of the posts regarding the latest FW update. Sounds like a nightmare. Do some reading first.
Morgan
2016-11-8
Use props
RichJ53
First Officer
Flight distance : 1837356 ft
  • >>>
United States

Hi there and welcome to the forum

I would leave everything alone for now. If you would like to read about some of the issues that have been experienced by many others ? read the thread copied below. I am running the same version as you, based on what you show above and everything is working fine.